Design for Digital Media Environments – Ideas/ Research

As I’ve learnt from previous projects the more ideas and research I can conduct then the better chances I will have of producing a higher quality product. From this I have started to brainstorm and look into ideas that may work and also aspects of website designs that work well.

Before being put into groups I wanted to come up with some solid ideas for the website that I could possible pitch to my group. As I discussed last week I was thinking of a website that tells students where the cheapest aspects of life are, from food to clothes. The biggest advantage of this idea is that it meets one the briefs requirements of meeting a target audiences need. As we know students aren’t loaded with money and are always looking for a bargain so this ideas meets their need directly. Mind maps really help me in this situation as you find yourselves taking an idea even further. For example students can post on the website of where their favourite lost cost items are.

Screen Shot 2015-02-13 at 16.04.08Another idea I came up with came from using Openstreet Map. While using Openstreet Map I thought it was great how interactive it was, it felt like your making more of a differences than just posting a comment of social media. With this in mind I thought about a globe that you could post and plot where you’ve been in the world. You would not only see your travels but the whole worlds and be able to see images and videos that they have posted. A great aspect of this is that it merges the interactive side from Openstreet Map to familiar use of posting images and videos. In a certain way it could be used as a review website of holiday destination. A problem that could hinder this idea is that it doesn’t meet any target audiences needs, mainly because websites are already in place, such as Tripadvisor.

apple website 1The design phase of our own websites will upon us sooner than we realise so looking at websites is going to be great way to get inspiration. Two website that standout to me are Apple and Ebay. Both these websites carry a trait of having a simple and organised design. The boxes they use are all positioned in the middle of the page, meaning that for any user it’s very easy to read from to top to bottom, rarely having to look left or right. A design trait that I wish carry on to my website.

Screen Shot 2015-02-13 at 16.13.40

 

References:

Ebay.co.uk,. ‘Electronics, Cars, Fashion, Collectibles, Coupons And More | Ebay’. N.p., 2015. Web. 11 Feb. 2015.

Cdn.iphonehacks.com,. N.p., 2015. Web. 11 Feb. 2015.

Leave a Reply

