Design for Digital Media Environments – First Ideas/Task 1

Even though its early in the project I have come up with a simple idea that I personally think looks promising. The idea consists of targeting a student based audience whereby a web application can find the cheapest and best aspects from all corners of life, being from food, lifestyle and leisure. This idea may go no where or the backbone to our project so I feel its important to think of as many ideas as possible.

It is also important to note that my posts wont just consist of the technical know how but more on exploring the broader digital media environment, something that can be seen in the tasks we undertook this week. The first task I under took was to add a photo, video or diagram to wikimedia. I decided to add a time-lapse video of the Norfolk broads to wikimedia commons. Wikimedia commons stores media content such as videos and images but without the copyright laws. Meaning that you are free to use anything found here as long as certain restrictions are met, such as giving appropriate credit. For my piece of work I decided to use the shareAlike license. This license states that, “if you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original”. The main reason I picked this license is because my work now has the possibility to reaching out to so many people, something that just posting it Facebook could not achieve.

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 11.30.38

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 11.33.14The next task involved adding detail to an openstreet map of the Bournemouth University campus. An openstreet map in a certain way is a canvas that everyone can add to. Unlike Google maps where aspects of a locations may be missing, openstreet maps enables users the ability to insert items themselves, such a cashpoint. When looking at the map I saw the car park at the top of the campus had not been fully labelled so decided to fill the whole area. The great aspect of openstreet maps is that its interactive, a trend that is being seen all over media and with increasing popularity. I also feel it has the ability to bring users back to website. In this instance you’re not just a consumer of the website but someone who is making a difference. I know personally that I will revisit this map over Google Maps any time.

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 11.43.27

 

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 12.00.04I decided to take this further and look at the small village I live in, figuring not many landmarks would be pointed out. I turned out to be correct and found that our local pub and its car park had not been highlighted so was able to edit this in. This idea is a great one, as you feel like your making a real contribution, it may be small but it might help someone somewhere.

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 12.07.46

Leave a Reply

