Development and Realisation – Illustrator

In the past few weeks we have been introduced to Illustrator and Inkscape, both possible programmes we may use to produce our poster. In this weeks workshop we were shown how to use the pen and trace tool to transform a raster image into a vector image in Illustrator. One of the tasks we were given was to change certain aspects within the Starbucks logo. The process itself was relatively easy, by using the pen tool I was able to outline certain parts of mermaid and later use the anchor paint tool to fit these outlines into the curves. As you can see in the two examples below, once I had outlined one side of the logo I could simply flip the outlines to fit the opposite side. These shortcuts that we are experimenting with now, will prove to be very useful when coming to designing our posters.
Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 11.46.06

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 11.53.18Once all the outlining was complete I was able to experiment with the logo as I had control of all aspects within the logo. If I wanted to change the shape or colours of the mermaids eyes I easily could have done so. Instead I went for a far simpler approach, by changing the background to pink I have almost created a breast cancer awareness logo.

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 11.59.10 (1)The techniques gained in this workshop will proved to be very useful as they link directly into the graphics that I wish to portray in my poster. The style flat graphics is certainly one that I will use to create my donuts, it may be simple, but fits into my target younger target audience. I now have far more confidence going into next week when I will try to make these ideas come to life in Illustrator.

Flat images - Fast Food

 

Image Source:

– http://cdns2.freepik.com/free-photo/fast-food-icons-vector-set_62147501026.jpg

Leave a Reply

